Comics Collection Update!

I don’t normally post about new comics I’ve purchased, primarily because I buy them somewhat infrequently (one of the perks of having a boyfriend who owns ALL THE COMICS).  We went on a little adventure this weekend though, and I wound up with a few great buys, so I figured I’d take a page out of Comic Reviews by Walt‘s book and share my finds.

We decided to head out to a few local yard sales, and one that we stumbled across online mentioned a huge comic and old toy collection.  The ad claimed they had over 1,200 comics from the 60’s forward, and since it was only a few minutes away we decided to head over and check it out.

When we arrived, we saw numerous long-boxes set up on the porch, along with tables and baskets of old action figures and collectables.  I figured this had to be the leftover collection of someone who had either passed away or just outgrew them.  An older gentleman came outside and started talking to us, telling us he sold and traded these comics now, and was no longer in the collection business. As we talked some more we found out that not only had he been a collector, but he was also a writer for a number of years.  His name’s Mike Pellowski, and he’s written for a number of comics titles including Archie,  The Phantom Stranger, Betty & Veronica, and a host of others.  We chatted and listened to his stories as we flipped through the comics, and after finding a handful to buy, I was happy to hand over the money. His stories alone were worth the cost, and it’s so cool to find out I’ve got this comics writer right in my backyard.

Most of his comics were from the 60s through 90s, with a few strays going up through the early to mid 2000s.  The Adventure Comics cover stood out because of the multiple Bizarros, and the Rip Hunter comic seemed obscure and interesting.  I don’t know much about WildC.A.T.S., but it was practically free (and a #1) so I figured I’d check it out.  The big score for me though was the Back Canary #1 and #2.  Mistah J and I had just been talking about the fact that there really aren’t many Black Canary trades out there (current Rebirth titles not withstanding) and part of it is due to the fact that she’s rarely carried her own book.  Finding these was exciting, and since it’s unlikely they’re collected in trade (and possibly never will be) this was likely my only change to read them.  They’re from her solo series in the early 90s, and considering I don’t think I’ve read anything from that run, I’m excited to check them out.  The random Batman button and 60’s “Batman” magnet were a random impulse buy, but they’re fun and again, were really cheap.

After sifting through those comics I started getting the comics-buying itch, so we drove to the local comic book shop to browse.  I was also on the hunt for DC Superhero Girls comics, a series I kept hearing about but hadn’t had any luck in finding in stores.

Luckily, this store had one of the two collections, along with a few other random titles I decided to pick up.  I’m particularly a fan of the girl superheroes (can you tell?) so when I found a couple Huntress collections in the half-priced trades section, I figured I’d pick them up. I really like the Earth-2 version of Huntress and am looking forward to reading that. I’m equally excited to read the Helena Bertinelli Year One trade as well though. While I know her history through references in other comics, I’ve never actually read the full story.  The Black Canary trade is the only current storyline I picked up, though I’m happy to have gotten it. I figured I’d give the Rebirth Volume 1 a try to see what direction they’re taking the character. I’ve liked her appearances in Batgirl lately, so I have high hopes that it’ll be good.

Rounding out the pile were a few oddball items that Mistah J picked up for my dad.  My dad’s got a very eclectic set of interests, and his hobbies and collections have spanned decades. The G-Fan magazine is Godzilla-oriented, and being a huge fan I figure he’ll appreciate that.  I had no idea this Scooby-Doo Team-Ups comic was a thing, but as soon as I saw it I thought of my dad. He was (and still is) a massive fan of Scooby Doo, Where Are You? as well as DC.  Seeing the two combined in a comic seemed like the perfect match for him. Now all I have to do is hunt down the first two volumes. Who knew this was an ongoing series?
All in all, not a bad way to spend a Saturday morning.  We had fun browsing, and I’m always happy to add a few trades to my fledgling comics collection.  Now I just have to get around to actually reading them…

-Jess

 

Leave a Reply

